Thursday, March 26, 2009

Is it inappropriate?

Is it inappropriate to have a conversation over lunch with your General Manager that entirely entails talking about going to bars and being drunk? Well that is what happened to me today, normally I have my usual lunch buddy, but today I was abandoned to eat alone. This is a scary thing at my work, because most people feel uncomfortable sitting alone so they will sit with you even though you clearly look like you want to be alone. And I am that person who is okay sitting alone and playing on my phone, or reading a magazine, or a blog I printed out. So today, I came armed with my printed out blog to read. I got to the lunch room, and there was no one there (pheww) I got my food, sat down and began reading and consuming my meal. The next thing I know, my GM is walking in the caf to have lunch, and I know I am the only one in there, so I feel it coming... The inevitable, I put my papers away, smile, and have polite conversation (which I hate).

So he sits down, and we are talking about where I live (mind you, my GM live like 5 mins from me). He asks me what I do in our town, and I told him I don't really hang out in my town, I go to NB or HB for fun... and he proceeds to ask me where I go. My bright ass thinking he has no idea about any of the bars down there, just say I go to dive bars. Safe Answer right, we can change the subject no big deal... WRONG. He asks me which ones, so I start naming my frequent watering holes. I felt so put on the spot, and I didn't want him to judge me for my bar choices. As I am starting down my list, he starts telling all about how he used to go to those same places when he was younger, and starts telling all about his drunken crazy stories from his youth. And although, I appreciate the effort, and his stories were quite amusing, the last thing I want is the big boss to think I am so huge alcoholic, that just goes out drinking all the time. So this conversation went on for 30 mins, him asking me where else i go out, him telling me stories about those places, and him telling me more places to go check out (If they still exist).

Needless to say, my lunch break did not consist of peace and quiet and blog reading... but purely of me judging myself for my own bar choices, and my own fear that I am now going to be fired for being a drunk... "Cheers"

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

To Run or Not to Run... ?

I have always wanted to run in a marathon. I used to talk to an old friend all the time about running a marathon together. She used to write a calender of training that she wanted to do, and I would always say that we would do one together one day. Well, unfortunately life decided her fate early and we would never get the chance to run a marathon together. I now feel that this is something I should do in her memory. Yet, I fear I will not be able to finish or accomplish it and will let her down. I know if I put my mind to it, I can do it, but I want this to be something for her. I want the charity the money I raise to go to something she would believe in, I want to work hard and train and make a calender and stick to it, because that is what she would have done. I have all these fears built up that by finally deciding the cherish her memory in some way I will mess it up.

So now I must decide, what marathon I should devote my time to... And; "To Run or Not to Run"

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Dating in the 21st Century

Oh Grandma...
So I received an email from my grandma today that read this:

"Grandpa and I saw 'He's Just Not that Into You' the other day- I thought dating when I was young and again after divorce was hard but today has to be the worst. Men seem to get more difficult as time goes by. Thank heavens for Grandpa. Good luck to you and all the other singles."

Umm.. Thanks Grandma, for letting me know what I already knew. Men are difficult, and I need luck to find a good one...

Now I am going to go have a beer....

Friday, January 23, 2009

If You Seek Amy

I am trying to figure out why this is such a big deal. The Internet is in a buzz saying that the radio will not be playing Britney's latest single, titled "If You Seek Amy". Sure if you say the title slowly and enunciate each syllable it can sound like something a little more perverse, but it is just a song. A song mind you that was written by a huge hit maker, Max Martin. This is the same man that wrote, "Hit me baby one more time" which they also wanted to ban do to the fact it was about domestic violence. Yet, they played it and it went on to become one of the biggest grossing singles ever. I don't understand why people want to be so offended by a song they can turn off on the radio, haven't you heard of an off button, or even changing the station temporarily till the song is over. Why not allow a song that has some creativity to it on the radio... Why does everyone have to be so stuck up... Just let it go...

So to that I have to say "And all the boy and all the girls are begging to F U C K Me" :)

Random

So blogging... which mind you hasn't been updated to an actual word in the English language, has become this phenomenon that everyone wants to be a part of. People want others to read what they have to say, and they want people to tell them what they are saying is important and relevant. I admire people who want to put their ideas, beliefs, fears, lives, work, and relationships out there for all to see, although I do not want to mimic their approach to the world of "blogging". I have found in my years of writing, that when I write there is no rhyme or reason to what I am saying, or why those thoughts have formed in my mind, but I must get them out. I have been a big journaler for years because of this. So to approach journaling in a new format, why not allow those who want to know the craziness that is in my mind to read it. I have never been afraid of what I have to say, and the emotions that I feel, but I thought this would be a new avenue to approach it in a different way. So my "blog" will be a journal of sorts, random things that I am thinking, feeling, or saying that I need to get out... so I guess I am no different than anyone else who blogs, mine just may make less sense to everyone else.